Rana panel sweeps Chandigarh Press Club polls

March 27, 2017 01:16 PM

 Chandigarh, March 27 (Punjabkhabar Bureau): Jaswant Rana of the Rana-Rawat-Handa Panel was elected as president of the Chandigarh Press Club for the second consecutive year after trouncing Tarlochan Singh of the Tarlochan-Akash-Sanjeev Panel by a margin of 144 votes on Sunday.

The Tarlochan-Akash-Sanjeev Panel could not win a single seat as all nine on offer were bagged by the Rana-Rawat-Handa Panel. A total of 507 votes out of 581 were polled.

Barinder Rawat of Danik Bhaskar became secretary general after defeating Akash Ghai of The Tribune by 61 votes. Saurabh Duggal of the Hindustan Times was elected senior vice-president by defeating Nalin Acharya of Him Prabha by a hefty 83 votes.

Monica Sharma of the Hindustan Times was elected Vice-President (woman). She overcame the challenge of Ruby of Aaj Samaj by a margin of 167 votes. Rajinder Nagarkoti of The Tribune was elected Vice-President after he defeated Amarnath of Dainik Tribune by 202 votes. Sanjay Malhotra of PTC News stormed home by a margin of 52 votes and was elected secretary by  defeating Jagtar Singh Bhullar of Zee Media.

K.S. Rana of Punjab Kesri was elected Joint Secretary (1) after defeating Archana Sethi of Danik Bhaskar by 31 votes.

Neha Sharma of the Times of India bagged the post of joint secretary (2) by trouncing Sanjay Kurl of Punjab Kesri by 130 votes, while Ramesh Handa of Punjab Kesri was elected treasurer by defeating Sanjeev Mahajan of Danik Bhaskar by a margin of 45 votes.

According to Returning Officer Sham Singh, press club elections are being held regularly since 18984. The club was established in 1980. He congratulated the voters for their participation and smooth conduct of the proceedings.

Have something to say? Post your comment